I love you and I like you

There are some relationships that are just a lot of fun. There are some relationships that are shallow. There are some relationships that are toxic and need to be let go. There are some relationships that are good for only a certain season in our lives. And then there are some relationships that you can’t fathom living without after they come into your life.

One of the most prized possessions in life is love. We love the idea of love, whether that love is romantic, family-oriented, friendly, or even general. With the different labels come different dimensions of love, different types of love that a person is able to give and experience. They say, “Love makes the world go round,” and I agree.

Today, I celebrate the love I share with my boyfriend, Kasra.
We made the “halfway mark” on our journey to our first anniversary, and although this may seem frivolous to some, this means so much to me.

To put it simply, I identify heterosexually, and I’ve shown interest in romance since I was young. I’ve met many guys throughout my adolescent, teenage, and young adult years. I been involved in many heterosexual relationships in my life. I may have had a few boyfriends in my life, but each experience with them has been a learning process and has contributed to the path that led me to where I am, and who I am, today.

There are some relationships that are just a lot of fun.
There are some relationships that are shallow.
There are some relationships that are toxic and need to be let go.
There are some relationships that are good for only a certain season in our lives.
And then there are some relationships that you can’t fathom living without after they come into your life.

I’ve loved a few men in my life…all which have affected me in their own way.
But none have influenced me the way my current love does today.



One of the most important lessons I’ve learned from the love I share today is to cherish the person who unconditionally loves you.

Although this may seem simple, it’s one of the most complex loves we can find and develop in life, and I would like to take a moment to try to breakdown this kind of love I experience with my own narrative. 

This person challenges you…challenges you to do your best and accept nothing but your best, to be your best…but also challenges you to accept your best, and not to accept only perfection.

This person encourages you and builds you up to help you grow, but reminds you to learn to love yourself and appreciate the small steps you take on your journey in life.

This person supports you…supports you in your passions and endeavors…supports you in the big life decisions you make, and in your insecurities…but also supports you in your lowest of moments.

This person accepts you…not just your(weird)self, but your aspirations, your fears, and even your biggest mistakes.

This person respects you and his or her self to have healthy boundaries, and understands that real love is not only present during the good moments but is also present during the difficult moments as well.

This person does not belittle you during disagreements, arguments, or difficult situations, but utilizes communication, empathy, and forgiveness.

This person expresses his or herself to you, and understands vulnerability is an important aspect of maintaining a relationship.

This person shares common ground with you…shares interests, values, beliefs, or even a sense of humor with you. This person may not be your identical twin, and instead may sometimes better identify as your opposite, but is able to relate to you on some level, regardless.

This person makes your life better. You can be happy without them, but you are happier with them, and that’s the distinct difference.


I never predicted the love I share with Kasra right now.

I always wished for the kind of love I feel today, and I even tried to feign it with others. However, once I stumbled upon it, I immediately was able to see a difference in the type of relationship I now have, and even noticed a difference in myself.

I grew more secure in my relationship, more confident in myself.
I trusted more, I made better decisions.
I maintained better boundaries, I better showed respect for myself and others.
And I loved deeper than I imagined I could.

A healthy relationship changes you for the better. It widens the horizon of possibilities. It ignites a fire in you that can’t be fueled by anything less. It makes you excited for the future ahead, yet makes you breakdown everything you thought you knew before.

Do I know how my relationship with Kasra will turn out? No. I don’t.
I have dreams and goals, but I understand that sometimes life doesn’t go as planned.

Who knows how much time I have in this newfound relationship?…I certainly don’t.

Regardless, all I know is that I’ll love with all my might, and I’ll hope for the best.
I’ll take each experience, mistake, adventure, or moment as a learning experience.
I’ll cherish what I have, because that’s all I can do.

And in this moment, I cherish you, Kasra.
From the bottom of my heart…thank you for all you’ve done and do for me.

I love you and I like you, and that’s just enough for me.

Leave a Reply

